Make An “I Feel Lucky Because…”

August 20, 2008 at 9:02 pm (Happiness)

photo by Merlijn Hoek via flickr

photo by Merlijn Hoek via flickr

All of us need to bitch about life some time. Family drama, relationship conflicts, hectic work demands, academic worries, financial troubles catch us at some point. Sometimes, it can be depressing and dismal.

They may even keep us down for months.

It’s damn difficult to think of anything at first in times like these but keeping a list of reasons why you are lucky, even if the things on it are arbitrary, can help lift your spirits and motivate you to go on. Everyone has problems of their own, no matter how rich or pretty or so-in-love they are. We wish for their fortune, we envy it, and we assume that if only we could have or be X, we would be happy and life would be perfect.

Could there be something about you people may envy?

Realizing your fortunes does not mean ignoring your troubles and being blindly optimistic. It’s motivating. It points out your advantages. It points out your resources. It points out your past achievements. You’ll pulled through bad times before, you can do it again.

Here’s my list:

  1. I’m lucky to be in school. If I wasn’t, I would be wasting time. I would be stuck in a crappy, tedious wage job. I wouldn’t be able to visualize some of my dreams for darling and myself. I would be closing off my options for the future.
  2. I’m lucky to have found my soulmate early in life. I used to not believe in soulmates, but fortunate compatibility. I’m lucky to have been proven wrong and to be proven wrong so early. I see people so much older than me still trying to find “true love.” :{
  3. I’m lucky to have been born in America. I was only a generation away from being raised in a third world, Communist country. America’s an imperfect country but it’s riddled with opportunity. I also understand the magnitude of trouble my parents went through to have me here.
  4. I’m lucky to be an artist. I dissect the world into forms and colors and notice things most people do not. It also cultivated a creative mind now nowadays, finds way to meet new people, make money, save money, and remake things.
  5. I’m lucky to have grown up so close to my siblings. Many people never get to enjoy the sort of close bond I’ve had with my brother and sister throughout my life. They make me laugh and color my favorite memories.
  6. I’m lucky to have parents who came from another culture. Okay, okay, it’s a double-edged sword. It’s definitely not all fun and soy sauce. It was hard and demanding growing up between two cultures but it also let me understand different ways of thinking.
  7. I’m lucky to have had friends who were my second family. They filled my years with adventure and were always there for me as my emotional safety net.
  8. I’m lucky to be young. I can still easily fix my mistakes, instill certain habits in myself, have the energy to maintain my health, have the time to decide my passions and plans, and the freedom to do stupid, fun college kid things. ๐Ÿ™‚
  9. I’m lucky to be a geek. I love learning and that love of learning definitely works in my favor in the real world. ๐Ÿ˜‰ having a wide cast of interests makes me hard for me to decide on a major but it also opens up a lot of options. I love anime it’s brought me to so many new friends, so much opportunity, and so many eclectic quirks. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  10. I’m lucky to have had a crappy social life in middle school and early high school. It sure wasn’t fun back then but it makes me appreciate people and realize that it’s important to reach out to others.

So why are you lucky? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

